Olaleye Idowu

Governor Godwin Obaseki has been declared the winner of Edo governorship election conducted on Saturday by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Governor Obaseki’s long walk started when he began to have political challenges with his estranged godfather, comrade Adams Oshionmhole which led him leaving the All Progressive Congress for the People’s Democratic Party where he was able to clinch the party’s gubernatorial  ticket and eventually winning the general election.

Obaseki Polled  a total 307, 955 votes to defeat the All Progressive Congress candidate Osagie ize-iyamu who got 223, 619 votes, according to the independent National Electoral commission (INEC)

The PDP candidate won with a difference of 84,336 over APC’s Ize-Iyamu. Obaseki won 13 of 18 local governments in Edo State while Ize-Iyamu won in five local governments

Meanwhile, president mohammadu Buhari has commended the process as he reiterates his commitment to free and fair elections in the country.

The president in a statement signed by his Senior special assistant on media and publicity, Mallam Garba Shehu and that which was obtained through his verified Facebook account said President Mohammadu Buhari has commended the election process in Edo state which led to the victory of governor Godwin Obaseki as declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)

Garba stated “President Buhari congratulated the winner as he urged him to show grace and humility in victory, he added, “my commitment to free and fair elections is firm because, without free and fair elections, the foundation of our political and moral authority will be weak.”

The President added: “I have consistently advocated for free and fair elections in the country because it is the bedrock of true democratic order, as democracy will mean nothing if the votes of the people don’t count or if their mandate is fraudulently tampered with.”

The President commended the people of Edo State, the parties, candidates and security agencies for conducting themselves responsibly.


1) Igueben LGA

PDP 7,870

APC 5,199

Total 13170
Total votes cast 13,382

Election materials snatched in Ward 8, Unit 2

2) Esan North-East

APC 6,556
PDP 13579
Valid votes 20,369
Total votes cast 20,730

3) Esan Central

APC 6,719
PDP 10,794

4) Ikpoba-Okha

APC 18,218
PDP 41,030

5) Uhunmwonde

APC 5,972
PDP 10,022

6) Egor LGA

APC 10,202
PDP 27,621

7) Owan East

APC 19,295
PDP 14,762

8) Owan West

APC 11,193
PDP 11,485

9) Esan South-East

APC 9,237
PDP 10,565

10) Ovia North East

APC 9,907
PDP 16,987

11) Etsako West LGA

APC 26,140
PDP 17,959

12) Oredo LGA

APC 18,365
PDP 43,498

13) Esan West

APC 7,189
PDP 17,434

14) Akoko Edo LGA
APC – 22,963
PDP – 20,101

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat